Select Page

13 July 2023 – For Immediate Release  

FREDERICTON, NB – Last month at their annual general meeting, the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce welcomed Michael Melvin of McInnes Cooper as its President for 2023-2024, taking over the role from Jill Stairs of Daye Kelly & Associates. Stairs moves into the Past President role for a one-year term.   

Melvin has been a board member at the chamber since 2018. During that time and in preparation for the role, he has been heavily involved in the chamber’s activities, particularly in relation to advocacy and immigration support efforts and has previously chaired the following chamber committees: Government Affairs, Policy, Board Nominating, Finance and Governance. 

Pictured: Michael Melvin,
2023-24 President

Melvin is a corporate-commercial lawyer and a partner with the regional law firm of McInnes Cooper. He served as a consulting mentor in the Chamber’s Business Immigrant Mentorship Program from 2011 until it moved to its new home at Ignite Fredericton in 2019. Mike has experience in the start-up space, having served as a member of Ignite Fredericton’s Start-up Visa Committee and as a participant in office hours at Planet Hatch (giving free legal advice to start-up entrepreneurs).  

Originally from St. John’s, NL, Mike studied music before going to law school at The University of New Brunswick. He studied classical guitar performance at Mount Allison University and The San Francisco Conservatory of Music and music history at The University of Arizona.  

“The Fredericton Chamber of Commerce continues to be successful because of engaged community leaders like Mike stepping up to volunteer their time and expertise,” said Chamber CEO Krista Ross. “Our team is very fortunate to be led by such talented and committed businesspeople that bring boots-on-the-ground knowledge and forward-thinking leadership to our organization.  

At the chamber’s annual general meeting in June, outgoing president Stairs presented the chamber’s President’s Award to Shawn Delong of RogersTV Fredericton. The award celebrates a business, organization or individual for extraordinary service and contributions that have assisted the chamber overall, but in particular – during that president’s year. Mr Delong was instrumental in helping the chamber film “Business Insight Fredericton” for the previous four years in addition to providing other coverage for chamber events and activities.  

In addition to Melvin and Stairs, the other Executive Committee members for 2023-24 are:  

  • 1st Vice President – David Shipley, Beauceron Security Inc.  
  • Secretary/2nd Vice President – Sara Holyoke, Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton  
  • Treasurer – Michelle Paquin, Spacek Armstrong & Norrad  
  • Executive Member – Dave Milburn, Focal Point Landscape Design and Installation  
  • Executive Member – Jordan O’Brien, Porter O’Brien  

The chamber board also had a number of incoming board members confirmed, replacing members that completed a two-year term.  

The newest members of the chamber board are:   

  • Devansh Bavishi, IG Wealth Management  
  • Ashley Dearing, Dearing Media  
  • Daniel Hoyles, Profitual Inc.  
  • Scott McMullin, Covey Basics  
  • Cameron McNeil, Par 94 Golf Inc.  
  • Danielle Pelletier, VIVA Therapeutic Services  
  • Kelsey Seymour, CC Goodwin Consulting Inc.  

Returning Board Members are:  

  • Fanny Bodart, The Property Ladies   
  • Catherine McLatchie, J. Donovan Law Group  
  • Tosin Ajibola, Welkom.U Inc.  
  • Stanley Barnaby, JEDI (Joint Economic Development Initiative)  
  • Noel Eustace, Instant Imprints Fredericton  
  • Jenna Evans, Stiletto  

Finishing their terms on the board in 2023 are:  

  • Jeff Saunders- Teed Saunders Doyle (2021-22 President)  
  • Shannon Dion – Bringloe Feeney  
  • Asif Hasan – Climative  
  • Samantha Bosca – RBC Royal Bank  
  • Rodney Blanchard – Stantec Consulting Ltd.  
  • Victoria Gillan Leitner – Mariner Partners  
  • Tim Daley – Scotiabank  
  • Gilles Allain, The Chalmers Foundation  


The Fredericton Chamber of Commerce, a nationally accredited organization with more than 1,000 members, is an active business organization engaged in policy development and advocacy that affects the competitiveness of our members and the Canadian business environment. The Chamber’s vision is ‘Stronger Community Through Business Prosperity’  

Contact: Krista Ross, Fredericton Chamber of Commerce CEO – (506) 458-8006  

Share This